Home > Uncategorized > My Top Five Albums Of 2011

My Top Five Albums Of 2011

As I look back on 2011 I wonder how it went so fast! It seems like early on in the year I just couldn’t wait for NQC to arrive, and suddenly it was upon us. I have heard a lot of music this past year, I didn’t get to review nearly as many CD’s as I wanted to and I will still do some 2011 reviews in the coming weeks. Below is my (personal favorites) top five list of Southern Gospel Albums from 2011.

Gold City- Somebody’s Coming- This is one I have yet to review; but definitely will! Lets just say it was well worth the year and a half wait that it took to hear it.

The Collingsworth Family-Part Of The Family- This is one the best all around releases from this past year, the Collingsworth family is just getting better and better with each new release.

Legacy Five- A Wonderful Life- I felt at the time when I reviewed this album that it was one of the best L5 had done, and I will stand by that statement. To me this is one of the best 2011 albums.

Greater Vision- The Only Way- Chris Allman really breathed some life into this project and it may be the best Greater Vision album in ten years and maybe for the next ten years!

Booth Brothers- Let It Be Known- The Booth Brothers showed once again why the are the most popular group in the business with this album, they also showed why they might just be the best group as a whole…

These were my personal favorites from 2011; but they also represent I feel some of the very best albums that Southern Gospel had to offer in this last year, I hope next year is even better for Southern Gospel! I wish everyone a very happy New Years!

  1. Brad
    December 31, 2011 at 1:43 -05:00Dec

    Great list Nate! The albums by Gold City, The Collingsworth Family, and Greater Visoin are in top 5 favorites for 2011 as well. My other favorities are “Grace Says” by the Kingsmen and “Treasures” by the Mark Trammell Quartet. Legacy Five’s “A Wonderful Life” is in my top 10 favorites, but I was somewhat dissapointed by the Booth Brother’s CD this year. I did not enjoy “Let it be Known” as much as 2010’s “Declaration”, but It seems I am in the minority there because I have heard many people say just the opposite.

    • Nate Stainbrook
      December 31, 2011 at 1:43 -05:00Dec

      I also feel that Declaration was a better project; but Let It Be Known is superb as well.

      • January 1, 2012 at 1:43 -05:00Jan

        I too thought the Legacy Five album was very enjoyable, though I don’t know whether it would land in a top five for me. People said there were a lot of ditties, but really there were only three or four that could arguably go in that category. I noticed people weren’t making a similar complaint about the Kingdom Heirs’ _We Will Stand Our Ground_, but a case could be made that that album had more ditties than the L5 one! (Not that I didn’t like the KH album, I actually did, I’m just looking for consistency.)

        Greater Vision’s new project was completely solid. “I Know a Man Who Can” is worth the price all by itself.

        Part of the Family was a solidly crafted project that would easily make a top ten for me, but it was short on moments that grabbed me by the collar, if you know what I mean. I still think _The Answer_ stands out more.

        I loved _Let it Be Known_ as well. _Declaration_ may have had stronger songs, but I preferred the production on _Let it Be Known_. The orchestration on _Declaration_ was a little too Disney/Broadway for a group like the Booths.

        Haven’t heard the Gold City one yet, though I have listened to a few songs from it that I liked.

        Have you heard Wilburn & Wilburn’s major debut yet? That’s my favorite album of the year.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

