Home > Concert Reviews > Concert Review-Bean Blossom Southern Gospel Jubilee- Friday Night

Concert Review-Bean Blossom Southern Gospel Jubilee- Friday Night

Last summer Southern Gospel promoter extraordinaire  Bill Bailey, started Southern Gospels latest outdoor jubilee in Bean Blossom. Indiana at the Bill Monroe Memorial Music Park which was once considered the mecca of Bluegrass. The event runs three days and features many of your favorite artists. It was enough of a success last year that they held another event this year. which  was held this past weekend, Thursday through Saturday. I made it for the Friday night and Saturday night events. The Perry’s were the host group, and they did a terrific job. Below is a breakdown of the Friday night lineup (in the order in which the groups appeared) and my highlight moments from each. Lets get started shall we?

The Perrys- The Perry’s were without Joseph Habedank for the weekend as he had to sing in a wedding, so their lineup was a little different. Bryan Walker sang the lead part, Matthew Holt covered the baritone spot making for a softer, yet pleasing Perry’s sound. Bryan did a solid job manning Joe’s part and Matt Holt is a very good harmonizer. The highlight of their set was Libbi Perry Stuffle’s stirring rendition of “Celebrate Me Home” The Perry’s most recent radio hit. They of course closed with the ever popular “Wish I Coulda Been There” Bryan who was seemingly a little uncomfortable at the start of their set, was settled into a groove by the time this song rolled around and he knocked it out of the park! I thoroughly enjoyed The Perry’s set even without Joseph Habedank who is one of my favorite singers in Southern Gospel.

Brian Free And Assurance– Brian Free And Assurance was plagued with sound problems for most of their set. Jeremy Lyle’s (the bass singer) mic was turned down way to much, and I could barely hear him as I set in my camp chair about 10 rows back; but I digress BFA pulled off a great set, even with the sound issues. Highlighting their set was their opener “Joyful Joyful We Adore Thee”, which was sung without any music, which amplified the groups superb harmony. They of course brought the house sky down with “For God So Loved” And “Long As I Got King Jesus”. The real fun began on their very last song of the night (after the intermission) when Brian Free brought Karen Peck on stage for a sing off between the two of them. They sang “Looking For A City” just like Vestal and Johnny did it back in the 70′s, except Brian and Karen went even higher and higher… They ended up in a tie around (and this is a guess) the Eb-F-sharp range… It was quite a sight to behold and something I will not soon forget…

Karen Peck And New River– Karen Peck has, like Brian Free one of those distinctive voices that just wows you every time you hear her sing. She was without her sister Susan on Friday night. Filling in for Susan was a young lady by the name of Stephanie Scragg, she was once a part of the Jody Brown Indian family. Jeff Hawes was the other singer on stage. Highlighting their set was what I believe is next big KPNR hit “On The Banks Of The Promiseland” it is a beautiful tune that features Karen doing what she does best. The crowd undoubtedly ate this song up and rightfully so. Jeff Hawes turned in a terrific performance on a excellent new song titled “This Is What Mercy Does” Hawes is a exceptionally talented singer; but he seems a little hesitant to truly let it all out… I am sure that will come with more time in the industry. They closed their set with a scorching version of “We Shall Wear A Robe And Crown” I will probably never get tired of hearing Karen whip this song into submission! It was encored four times and Tracy Stuffle joined them on the encores to add some serious bass singing. KPNR probably had the best set of the night, and that is no slight to any of the other groups!

The Kingsmen Quartet– The Kingsmen arrived very late after they had some bus trouble on their way from North Carolina. They had to hurry and set up their sound system, so they got off to a little bit of a rough start; but they overcame that,and turned in a very solid set. The highlight of their set for me was Brian Hutson’s rendition of “I Owe It All To Him”. Just Cody Mcvey’s excellent piano accompaniment, and Brian’s brilliant vocals made for a glory bump moment for me! Randy Crawford made his first return to the group after a one month medical leave, he was understandably not in top form; but he pulled through quite well. Another song that I immensely enjoyed is their latest single “He’s Everything I Need” That is a winner for sure, and the audience agreed with me. Another performance that I truly loved was Harold Reed on “God Saw A Cross” He was in top vocal form on Friday night and it certainly showed on that song. Overall the Kingsmen with everything they went through on Friday had a very enjoyable set that I truly enjoyed.

Summary of the night– Overall it was a great night of gospel singing from some of the best groups in this genre… It was my first ever outdoor Southern Gospel event, and I really enjoyed being able to sit in my comfortable camp chair and enjoy some splendid singing. If you like the outdoors, and can handle warm weather I encourage you to go to at least one in your life.

Categories: Concert Reviews
  1. July 12, 2011 at 1:43 -04:00Jul

    Great review Nate! I wish I could have been there to hear Brian and Karen duel Looking For A City! That sounded like so much fun! You didn’t happen to get any video of that?!!! I’ve been to a couple of outdoor sings in the summer, and in spite of the heat, I really enjoyed them. They create a different, refreshing atmosphere, don’t they? Heard the Kingsmen’s new “He’s Everything I Need” on the radio the other day – great song! I totally agree! That ones a winner!
    ~Lynn

  2. Nate Stainbrook
    July 13, 2011 at 1:43 -04:00Jul

    I so wish I had gotten video of them doing that… I missed getting another very special moment on video, on Saturday which you will read about later today! Yes I loved being outdoors for a concert, it was a very nice change of pace! Your going to LOVE the new Kingsmen CD, that song is not the only winner!

  3. July 13, 2011 at 1:43 -04:00Jul

    Yeah, don’t you hate it when that happens? But just think, if it weren’t for bloggers, no one outside of a concert would know about all these fun things – so that’s something to be thankful for! Maybe Brian and Karen will do it again at NQC or something!?! Looking forward to reading about Saturday night and it’s special moment…
    ~Lynn

  4. July 13, 2011 at 1:43 -04:00Jul

    Will now be scouring Youtube for video of that… love Brian.

    But hey, didn’t Johnny and Vestal end up around that range too? I think Johnny ended up at Eb on this video:

  5. Nate Stainbrook
    July 14, 2011 at 1:43 -04:00Jul

    You are right about the range being similar (it had been awhile since I had seen the Goodmans video thanks for the link)… I am not sure exactly what Brian and Karen ended up on, I was trying to guess in my head at the concert, my ear is not perfect… I do believe it was slightly higher though than Johnny and Vestal…

  1. July 13, 2011 at 1:43 -04:00Jul

Leave a Reply

