Home > News and Notes > News & Notes

News & Notes

Its been a little quite on the Southern Gospel front for a little while; but I have been meaning to  post long before now… Below are some notable news and note blurbs from around SG.

  • NQC has almost finalized its afternoon showcase schedule and has done some changes to their nightly schedule. As for the showcases the biggest one is probably the Gaither Vocal Band Reunion on Thursday September 16th; Also Phil Cross will once again be returning with his song of a lifetime showcase, which has become quite popular. As for the night schedule additions I notice they have added Archie Watkins and the Smokey Mountain Reunion to the Thursday night sets. Though this has been mentioned on other blogs they have also added the Rambos and the Hinsons in what I feel is a smart move on their (NQC) part, those two groups were a huge hit last year at the 100th anniversary showcase. (source)
  • This video is making the rounds. It is of the Sound from the 80’s singing “Here Comes The Bride”. Scott Fowler really shows on that song why he was hired by the Cathedrals; and has been voted favorite baritone and lead singer on multiple occasions throughout  his career. I am glad however he doesn’t wear that ‘stache’ anymore… Scott told me once that he would never grow that back out again!
  • Gold City has been making attempt at becoming more accessible through social networking like other groups of late. Well the other day on GC’s facebook fan page they posted a video of Danny and Brent playing a short clip of their upcoming CD “Somebody’s Coming”. The song featured is “I Have An Anchor”,and I will say that it sounds great, especially Craig west and Tim Riley I am really looking forward to hearing this CD.  Check that out here. FYI you have to be logged onto facebook to access this video.
  • Congrats are in order for Ernie Haase and Signature Sound as they have garnered the number one spot on the singing news radio chart for the month of March, for their superb cover of the 1993 Cathedral song “I Thirst”. I wonder if every song they single from their “Tribute” CD will hit number one. We shall see I suppose.

That’s all I have for this weekend; I am going to try and post more often. I have been working so much lately I hardly have time to sleep! I am working on some things for the coming weeks that I am pretty excited about, stay tuned.

Categories: News and Notes
  1. New SoGo Fan
    February 19, 2011 at 1:43 -04:00Feb

    Welcome back Nate! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

