Home > Uncategorized > Tim Duncan Leaves Ernie Haase and Signature Sound

Tim Duncan Leaves Ernie Haase and Signature Sound

It was announced today that Tim Duncan will be leaving EHSS after eight years with the group; below I have a quote from Tim on his departure

“After 8 years of service to Ernie Haase & Signature Sound I have been feeling in my heart that my time has come to an end. I’m sad on one hand yet excited on the other hand. Ernie & the boys are like brothers and always will be. I covet your prayers.”

So as he requests lets all pray for Tim and his future!

On the flipside of this  they have already named his replacement; his replacement is Ian Owens who has sang for the Cumberland Quartet and the Imperials.  Ironically In an interview with Daniel Mount last week Ernie was asked the question “If you could pick four young up-and-comers and put together a “quartet of tomorrow,” who would you pick? Ernie had Ian as his pick for the Bass Singer. I have to hand it to Ernie he always seems to have just the right replacement in mind; and has the new guy hired and ready to go without wasting any time.

I am looking forward to hearing Ian with EHSS and looking forward to any future recordings with him. For a glimpse as to what he sounds like here is a link to a video clip of him singing “Arise My Love” We shall see I suppose how well he does with EHSS… Ernie has always made great hires and I expect no less from this move.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. New SoGo Fan
    January 18, 2011 at 1:43 -04:00Jan

    See also this clip:

    Also, check out the album Back to the Roots and listen to Ian’s feature on “I Believe.” That can be found on Napster:

    http://music.napster.com/the-imperials-music/album/back-to-the-roots/12764273

  2. January 18, 2011 at 1:43 -04:00Jan

    Sad to see Tim go, he added a unique flare. I think Ion is a good pick for EHSS and Ernie has a great ear for talent. No doubt this will be a home run for EHSS.

  3. DJPhil
    January 18, 2011 at 1:43 -04:00Jan

    Betcha Ernie already knew when he did the interview that Tim was leaving and Ian was coming in…

    • Nate Stainbrook
      January 19, 2011 at 1:43 -04:00Jan

      I would bet that you are correct sir…

  4. New SoGo Fan
    January 22, 2011 at 1:43 -04:00Jan

    Hey Nate, check this out:

  5. Nate Stainbrook
    January 22, 2011 at 1:43 -04:00Jan

    Great stuff! Ian is a great fit with EHSS vocally… He seems a little stiff on stage,(compared to Tim)and he was probably quite nervous. I love his solo voice,and I like how he blends right in with the guys already. Some bass singers have a tendency to stick out like a sore thumb in the ensemble; but not Ian… He really is a great “blender” I am looking forward to the first SS project with Ian.

    • New SoGo Fan
      January 22, 2011 at 1:43 -04:00Jan

      Well, Tim could be a little stiff on stage sometimes too, especially in his first years. 😉 But I think Ian will loosen up with experience.

      • Nate Stainbrook
        January 23, 2011 at 1:43 -04:00Jan

        True and True… 🙂

  6. Steven Blickley
    February 17, 2011 at 1:43 -04:00Feb

    I’m more worried about the new lead singer, he is no Jake Hess or Glen Payne.

  7. Jean Carlson
    March 30, 2011 at 1:43 -04:00Mar

    I too am concerned about Ernie and his group. I am wondering WHY the guys are leaving. Could it be Ernie is hard to work with? It may be his group, but he also seems to always want to steal the show.

    • Sportmodel
      January 26, 2012 at 1:43 -04:00Jan

      Maybe thats why the shakeup in the group the last few yrs. Someones always trying to “STEAL THE SHOW”!!

  8. Aimee
    April 10, 2011 at 1:43 -04:00Apr

    Jean, God leads people in different directions sometimes. I don’t think it has anything to do with Ernie. Ernie is a blessing from God and is a wonderful man.

  9. Aimee
    April 10, 2011 at 1:43 -04:00Apr

    I don’t think that Ernie ever steals the show…….they all have chances to share.

  10. May 16, 2011 at 1:43 -04:00May

    yeah maybe,,hes hard to work with,i dont why tim leave,somebody know

  11. Ben
    June 11, 2011 at 1:43 -04:00Jun

    I saw Ernie and the Group at a Benefit concert, First Baptist Snellville GA on 3 June
    Before the concert I attended a Buffet dinner/meet and greet with Ernie and the Group
    only 30 folks attended so it was on a personal level. The concert was sold out
    They performed flawlessly,and the new bass singer is about as good as they get.
    The AC was out in the church so the Guy’s performed in Jeans and tee shirts
    and really got down on a personal level with the audience which really was
    inspirational to the group as well as the audience,a spirit filled evening
    It was evident they made an excellent choice with the new bass singer
    and you can bet if it’s of God it will work out.

  12. Barbara Borchert
    July 15, 2011 at 1:43 -04:00Jul

    I am in mourning at the loss of Tim Duncan with Signature Sound — beyond sad. I also miss Ryan Seaton very much. . Where can we hear Tim now?

  13. August 7, 2011 at 1:43 -04:00Aug

    I’m disappointing for the loss of Tim and Ryan. When I first started listening to gospel songs, EHSS was: Ernie,, Doug, Ryan and Tim. It was my dream team. I still listen to their songs. I am afraid to start loving the new guys, cause they might leave too. I hate when actors are replaced in series movies, or singers in the bands. I still can’t recover after the loss of Tony Burger (which I consider to be the best pianist of all times). I know he is with Jesus now playing first hand for him. He was too good for this world, he got to be perfect in so short time and that’s why Jesus called him home so early.
    I am in mourning for Tim and Ryan. Maybe the only way to listen to their voices again is when Bill Gaither will make a Homecoming episode just for them. I know I will meet them in heaven and I will listen to them and even sing with them.
    Anyway, good job Tim and Ryan. Congratulations for what you realized so far. Maybe you had some family problems (I know Ryan has very young kids), I heard Tim has some health problems. My prayers are with you, Tim. We love you guys so much. God bless you!
    I hope the 2 new guys will live to our expectations. Welcome aboard!
    God bless you.

  14. October 9, 2011 at 1:43 -04:00Oct

    Ernie Haase signature Sound will always be wonderful through highs and lows in life, I have seen them in person and have many DVD’s and the only concern I have is Ernie Haase works so hard, he needs to go a little slower and get more off time w/ his family,I noticed the burn out when I saw him last time in Cedar Park Church Bothell,Wa. So just take better care TLC for you Ernie.

  15. October 9, 2011 at 1:43 -04:00Oct

    Remember all, Bill Gaither also has an history of many singers coming and going and coming back to sing w/ the group again more than one or even two times. Mark Lowry is an good example of coming and going w/ a group. Ernie Hasse and who ever signiture Sound is through the years will be great and I will always try to see them in concert when they are in my area. God Speed everyone, relax and let God, God blessed Ernie with this Group and oportunity. Amen

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

