Home > News and Notes > Billy Hodges Leaving The Kingdom Heirs

Billy Hodges Leaving The Kingdom Heirs

In what I believe to be an unprecedented happening in Southern Gospel; three tenors leaving major groups in one week has happened this past week…  Each one a different circumstance, and each one being handled differently by each group. The Kingdom Heirs were the latest group to have a tenor leave, Billy Hodges will be leaving due to vocal issues and has issued an open letter explaining exactly what is going on… Below in italics is Billy’s letter verbatim.

“It’s been nearly six years since I began my career singing with the Kingdom Heirs at Dollywood.  So it’s with mixed emotions that I announce my resignation from the group.  As some of you may know, I began having vocal issues back in the summer of this year. I visited Dr. Cleveland, the Voice Center at Vanderbilt’s top expert on vocal issues. They found a lesion on my left vocal cord.  After the visit I continued my vocal exercises and instructions that were given to me by Dr. Cleveland.  However, the damage had already been done.  On Wednesday October 27th after much prayer and consultation with Steve French we both decided that my time with the Kingdom Heirs has come to an end. Through tears we announced to the rest of the group that I would be leaving and my last date would be Jan 17th2011.”
Steve French says “It’s been a real pleasure having Billy, Selena, and Adison Jo as part of the Kingdom Heir family.  All of the guys prayed and hoped that Billy’s voice would clear up and he would be able to stay for many more years. Unfortunately it didn’t work out as we had planned.  Billy and I both agree that it’s time and we wish him and his family the best in all of their endeavors. He will always be a Kingdom Heir in our hearts and he will be greatly missed.” Search for a New tenor will start immediately…
Billy states, “We had originally planned to make this decision after the first of the year but God led us to this time.  I can’t stress enough how supportive the Kingdom Heirs have been to me and my family.  Steve has been very understanding through all of my struggles. Other groups might have just fired me but Steve knew my family commitments and has promised to give me two and half months to find other employment.  It’s my intent to continue to work for the Dollywood Company.” “I want to say a honest and heartfelt thank you to all the fans and friends I’ve made while being with the Kingdom   Heirs.  I will miss all of you greatly.”

Source

Now that my friends is how to handle a group change in my opinion; for more on that particular matter (group changes) go read Wes Burkes terrific post on the matter at hand…

Categories: News and Notes
  1. October 30, 2010 at 1:43 -05:00Oct

    “Other groups might have just fired me.”

    Big ouch.

  2. David Stuart
    October 30, 2010 at 1:43 -05:00Oct

    Wow, it is amazing how many tenors are making moves at the same time. It used to be around NQC for the major changes. This year , the changes were delayed by a month!

  3. October 30, 2010 at 1:43 -05:00Oct

    The changes actually came over a period of two weeks. The announcement about Jerry Martin came on October 15.

    And yes, that is a very good post by Wes on the topic of group changes.

  4. billpamm@bellsouth.net
    February 16, 2011 at 1:43 -05:00Feb

    It was great to read all of the messages about Billy. My wife and I have been praying God will supply his needs and provide for his family. We have helped when we can, and ask all his fans to do likewise. He is an awesome testimony for J ESUS,not only his singig but his smile his eyes God has truly blessed him.

  5. Brenda Gaylor
    December 30, 2011 at 1:43 -05:00Dec

    I miss hearing u sign.
    God Bless you and your family

  6. March 21, 2012 at 1:43 -05:00Mar

    Billy, I really miss you singing with the group and I thought you still sounded great. You have to do what the Lord leads you to do. God bless you and your family.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

