Home > Uncategorized > Video Of The Day: Legacy Five- We Shall See Jesus

Video Of The Day: Legacy Five- We Shall See Jesus

Last night I attended a Legacy Five concert in Burlington Kentucky. I won’t be doing full a full review, (read one here by Jeff who was there as well) but I will post this video of them singing “We Shall See Jesus” for only the second time live… It is even better live than it is on the CD (Give The World A Smile). You will notice on Gus’s solo line that he takes it up a notch, and blows it out of the water, he goes up to a High C instead of staying on the note he stayed on in the studio version. I have to say it was nice added touch to a great performance of this powerful song… Glenn and Scott on the verses are solid as well. As I said in my review of the CD, Scott is no Glen Payne (and he knows that) but he doesn’t claim to be or try to be in my opinion.

Now that I have seen both new versions of this song live (the other by Signature Sound) it is harder to decide which I like better. I do think having Glenn Dustin featured on L5’s version was a great move by Scott, but I like EHSS’s orchestration of the song more… Based on these two factors it is a tie for which one I feel is best… Both versions stand on their own without the need for comparison of the two…

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. September 20, 2010 at 1:43 -04:00Sep

    This is excellent, thanks for posting! I still think I’d give EHSS the edge, but this version can certainly stand on its own two feet.

  2. Jeff's Southern Gospel Perspective
    September 20, 2010 at 1:43 -04:00Sep

    Thanks for the video Nate and for the plug for my review! I understand what you mean about comparing the two versions but you know everyone is going to compare them anyway! Personally, I think the decision to feature Glenn on the first two verses makes the L5 version the better of the two.

  3. David Mac
    October 6, 2010 at 1:43 -04:00Oct

    With ref to comment on Daniel’s Blog, which opined that the Cat’s went out at the top of their popularity – but not musically – having just listened to both EH&SS and L5 cover versions, both excellent in themselves, the “old man” singing his version, in the Farewell Concert is still a cut above, and for a guy in his 70’s, 50 years on the road and in his last taping, a truly benchmark performance of an amazing gospel message!

    All goood versions, and a truly great song, but it is unlikely Glenn will ever be transcended in this role – except in glory!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

