Home > News and Notes > Roy Webb Leaving Gold City

Roy Webb Leaving Gold City

Roy Webb announced yesterday that he is leaving Gold City to fully pursue his solo career. I feel that Gold City is losing a great stage presence/personality albeit from the piano bench in losing Roy. But this is a chance for Gold City to turn what may be perceived as a negative and turn it into a positive.  I personally believe Gold City have always  produced the best albums when they have a piano player that also doubles as an arranger/producer ala Garry Jones, Tim Parton, and Channing Eleton… So this is their chance in my humble opinion to go after a guy with similar producing/arranging skills of the aforementioned piano players. I would love to see them bring back Garry or Channing, but I am not sure that will happen. Here is a name that I feel would fit them well in the role that I mentioned, he is Greg Howlett (plays for the Daybreak Quartet) he has produced albums of his own and I believe has helped produce some of Daybreak’s stuff. I am sure there are many other qualified pianists out there that are interested in singing for the prestigious Gold City Quartet…

Categories: News and Notes
  1. September 1, 2010 at 1:43 -05:00Sep

    I do love Greg’s playing but I really doubt that he’d be interested. However, I think you have an interesting concept there, Nate. Gold City has had some of the very best pianists in the business that have also been great arrangers and producers.

  1. September 1, 2010 at 1:43 -05:00Sep

Leave a Reply

