Home > Uncategorized > Friday News and Notes

Friday News and Notes

I am back… I had a great vacation last week, and then I have been extremely busy this week. Below I will list some highlights from the past week or so from the Southern Gospel world and the blogging world.

  • Greatly Blessed can now be pre-ordered from various outlets. However if you order it from gaither.com you will get a free or advance song. The song is “I Know How To Say Thank You” which features Mark Lowry. I have it and I will say that Mark sounds better on this song than he ever has. The song is very nicely written as well. Some highlights according to sound clips are the title track along with “You Are My All In All” I can’t wait to hear Wes cover “He Is Here” I also am looking forward to David Phelps nailing “He’s Alive” the biggest highlight is talked about below… You can listen to clips here, here and here. The last one is Christian Book distributors. They have a six song promo video featuring six clips of the new songs. The highlight in this particular set of sound-clips is “Please Forgive Me” You have to listen to understand what I am saying. They took that song and really kicked it up a notch and it absolutely blows me away. I hate to say it for I love Jason Crabb and the Crabb Family, but the GVB version at least from what I heard from that particular sound-clip, will soon own that song… I have to say I am getting more and more anxious for that CD to arrive in my mailbox!
  • The Hoppers re-sign with Spring Hill. They also will be releasing a new project of new material on August 24th. This will be their first label release in 4 years. I have to say I am looking forward to this one for sure. The title song “Somethings Happening” is going to be huge for them. Here is a Youtube video of them singing it in concert. You can hear clips from the rest of the album here.
  • This has been covered extensively but here is a reminder to pray for the Bowling Family, who were involved in a terrible bus accident last week. They have a long road to recovery, and they covet your prayers as they face this trying and difficult time. I am reminded by this to pray for all the artists out there who travel thousands of miles a month. I encourage you to do the same.

I will be posting some album reviews soon. Be looking for the following reviews.

Dove Brothers- Unshakable

The Nelons- Beside Still Waters

The Gaither Vocal Band- Greatly Blessed

Also in two weeks I will be attending a Triumphant Quartet concert the day after their live DVD taping… And two days after that I will be attending the Signature Sound Cats tribute video taping with my blogging colleague Daniel Mount.

Be on the lookout for a joint article with some fellow “young” southern gospel bloggers about what it is like and why I am a Southern Gospel fan at a young age. (In relative comparison to other SG fans)

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Janet B
    July 8, 2010 at 1:43 -04:00Jul

    Nate, we are in complete agreement on “Please Forgive Me!” All I’ve heard is about 30 seconds’ worth & it made me cry.
    This cd can’t get here fast enough!
    And…I keep saying Mark has never sounded better. Thanks for backing me up. 😉 That song is just gorgeous.

    Glad you had a good vacation. Welcome back!

  2. JayTee
    July 10, 2010 at 1:43 -04:00Jul

    Sounds like a lot to look forward to in the next month or two! Thanks for your hard “work.” 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

