Home > Uncategorized > Some Updates

Some Updates

I have been away from the blogging world for a while… I lost my mom last weekend, her death was something that came as a huge shock to my family and I. This has been and still is the toughest time of my life. But I know that I will see her again… She was the most spiritual and amazing person I have ever known, I am proud to be called her son. She was always faithful to the Cross. And I hope I can do her proud the rest of my life.

There have been several things that I have missed out on reporting and commenting about these last couple of weeks. I was working on a couple of reviews that I had to put off. But I will be starting on those again soon and I will be posting those in the next few weeks. I will be attending a Legacy Five concert on Saturday in Danville Ill. I will have a full report up on that  Monday. I really wanted to attend the L5/Greater Vision concert on Friday in Dayton OH. But I had a prior engagement that I could not get out of… But I am really looking forward to the concert on Saturday. It will be my first chance to see the new lineup in person. I have the new Just Stand CD with Gus’s vocal. It in my opinion puts this project over the top. The first single with Gus is “My Soul Is Firmly Anchored.” Which is a song that I loved on the original but Gus IMO really adds a element to this song that was missing on the original. I look for it to do well on the charts. Here are some news and notes from the Southern Gospel world.

  • Jacob Kitson is leaving Greater Vision. I won’t post a link since that is already so well known but I will give my thoughts. I for one will miss Jacob with Greater Vision, he had potential that I think was just beginning to be shown. I wish him the best in his ministry. For Greater Vision this is a great opportunity to start a new chapter… I for one would love to see them pull the trigger on becoming a quartet. I am actually not the biggest fan of their “Trio” sound. But however there are alot of people that don’t agree with me, as evidenced by their award winning ways… But I am just a sucker for quartets… (except the Booth Brothers and Voices Won) There is supposed to be an announcement of sorts from Gerald Wolfe tonight in the GV newsletter. I will be reporting that news here. Some tenors that I feel would be a great fit include: Chris Allman and Jason Waldroup, but those guys are no brainier great fits for GV for reasons that are self explanatory. Some guys that are not former members that would fit the GV “sound,” include: Jay Parrack, Wesley Smith, and Brian Alvey. The most likely out of those three would be Brian. I know that he tried out for Legacy Five so I think that he would definitely be interested… But as I said we will find tonight.
  • Jodi Hosterman joins the Inspirations. I was quite surprised by this move, I really thought that Dallas Rogers was a great fit and I am sad to see him go. With that said Jodi is quite talented and I believe that he will fit right in.
  • There are several groups releasing albums over the next couple of months. Be looking for the latest from these groups. The Booth Brothers, Legacy Five, Steve Ladd, Gold City and Brian Free And Assurance, among others.

Be on the lookout for the Greater Vision announcement and the L5 concert review over the next few days! Also if anyone is interested I am going to try my best to tweet from the L5 concert (I will be running a camcorder throughout most of the concert, so twittering will be sporadic). If you have a twitter account you can follow me here.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. April 6, 2010 at 1:43 -05:00Apr

    It’s good to have you back, Nate. Looking forward to your concert review on Monday!

  2. April 7, 2010 at 1:43 -05:00Apr

    Look for Gerald to announce the group’s future plans tonight in a newsletter!

  3. Stephen Thompson
    April 8, 2010 at 1:43 -05:00Apr

    Sorry to hear about the loss of your mother. You and the family will be in my prayers.

  4. April 10, 2010 at 1:43 -05:00Apr

    Looking forward to your concert review, Nate! I am still praying for you and your family..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

