Home > Uncategorized > Southern Gospel Weekend News Roundup

Southern Gospel Weekend News Roundup

Alot has happened over the last week or two in the Southern Gospel Industry. And I have been sorely behind lately. I will give you a rundown of the highlights. And some quick thoughts on the various topics.

  • Singing News is moving its fan awards show from the NQC to Dollywood in a joint effort with the SGMA hall of fame ceremony. It will be held on September 29th of this year. I am a little ambivalent about the issue some people hate the idea, while others are giving it full support. I can see compelling arguments for both sides. I think this move will truly benefit the SGMA. I just hope they don’t downgrade the Hall Of Fame ceremony but these two together IMO will help each other greatly. I can also see the other side of the argument about leaving right where it has been for quite a few years. The biggest argument is the attendance difference there really is no comparison between 17000 fans (NQC) and 2000 fans (Dollywood). Overall  I think there was alot of thought and time put into this decision, and I think SN handled it the right way even though some would not agree. For some excellent thoughts on the issue, visit Daniel Mount’s blog post on the subject.
  • Another headline is the fact that the Priority Quartet is changing their name back to the Lefevre Quartet. I am glad all of this worked out for Mike and the guys. They are a great group that I think has a bright future.
  • Ernie Haase and Signature are in the studio recording a new album with their new lead singer Devin McGlamery. It is tentatively slated to be released at the first of March. I am looking forward to hearing the new sound with Devin.
  • Christian Davis joins Dailey And Vincent. This move really surprised me, I did not think Christian was the Bluegrass type. I hope it all works out for him! Since he is one of my favorite current bass singers, I may check into any future recordings by the group. Even though Bluegrass is not really my cup of tea.

That is the quick rundown of what is going on in Southern Gospel music. Also here is my favorite and most played Youtube video for this past week. It is the new song by Legacy Five “One Thing God Can’t Do.” The song has a awesome message that will touch you, if you listen closely and take the lyric to heart! It features Tim Parton singing and Scott Fowler and Gus Gaches backing him up, making for some terrific harmony! Gus really blends very well with Scott. I think the future is very bright for L5 with Gus for his terrific vocal stylings and his great personality.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 23, 2010 at 1:43 -04:00Jan

    Thanks for the link!

  2. Naomi
    February 2, 2010 at 1:43 -04:00Feb

    Thanks for posting my video 😉 I love the new blog design too!! God bless!

    • Nate Stainbrook
      February 2, 2010 at 1:43 -04:00Feb

      Your welcome Naomi, I like the new design too… 🙂

  1. January 22, 2010 at 1:43 -04:00Jan

Leave a Reply

