Home > Uncategorized > Mid-Day NQC Update

Mid-Day NQC Update

  • I am having a pretty good day so far here at NQC. I attended the Chapel service with Legacy Five, and they were on fire for most of the morning. They covered several songs off of their new Just Stand project. The big standout  stirring song was “When They Found Nothing.” It really brought the house down. Other new songs included “Just Stand”, which they really drive home hard. Tim’s rousing rendition of “Wonderful Grace Of Jesus”  got a standing ovation. They also featured Tim on a new song called “One Thing God Can’t Do,” with Frank and Scott joining him on the verses to make a really nice trio. They closed with “Great Is Thy Faithfulness” and really did awesome on it. They got another standing ovation. Overall it was a good chapel service, that I really enjoyed.
  • On another Legacy Five related note, a couple of different blogs are now reporting that Frank is resigning the tenor position for Legacy Five. I am saddened by this news, for I felt Frank was the perfect fit for Legacy Five. He really sounds better than he ever has on the latest project (Just Stand), and it will be sad to see the possible success of this album hampered by Frank leaving. I will be praying for Frank and his family. I wish him the very best, for I know that he would not leave L5 if he did not feel that it was absolutely necessary. Pray for L5 as they seek a replacement. The blog reports do say that Frank is sticking around till they find his replacement.
  • I attended the Gaither Homecoming artist sing-along, and I came away very impressed. There were several highlights. One was that Tim Parton and Stan Whitmire handled the piano playing duties today. WOW! They both are two of the best “if not the best” in Southern Gospel Music today. Another higlight for me was John Rulupaugh handling David Phelps’ part on the song “When God Dips His Love In My Heart.” He really nailed it, they encored it three times. Another highlight was “Caananland Is Just In Sight.” Jason Crabb really did well on this song. The last highlight “for me anyway” was a young man named Logan Smith singing “What A Lovely Name.” Wow is not a proper word to describe this young man’s voice. He really nailed it; they encored it a couple of times. It was a great time and I really enjoyed myself at that showcase. I will say I cannot wait till tomorrow to see the GVB and EHSS together.
  • McKamey’s/Inspiration Showcase- I have been listening in to this showcase some (it is next door to the media room), and I will say the new Inspirations sound really solid. I have never been a big fan of theirs, but I have change my mind. Dallas Rogers sounded pretty good on “Dealing With Gold.” The McKameys well. . . they sounded like the Mckameys.

I will be posting another update in the morning on the night concert’s.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. September 19, 2009 at 1:43 -04:00Sep

    Wow…thanks for the kind words! I remember it a bit differently…but I’m glad that what you heard garnered that review!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

