Home > Uncategorized > Aaron Mcune Leaves Gold City

Aaron Mcune Leaves Gold City

According to a press release sent from Gold City, Aaron Mcune who has been the  bass singer for Gold City the past three years, is leaving the award winning quartet. Here is the link to the press release.

I for one am a little sad to see him go, I don’t know why he left and honestly I don’t care why he left. I have heard all the rumors but won’t mention them here, as it is hard find truth in damaging rumors. Now for replacements there are several good young Bass singers out there that I think could fit the bill…

1. Jeff Chapman- I don’t think he would leave the gig he has at the Kingdom Heirs, but he would be perfect for Gold City.

2. Christian Davis- Christian is probably one the best and most underrated young Bass singers on the road today… He would fit Gold Citys new sound and direction perfectly.

3. Chris West- This is Swains choice for a replacement and he would fit perfectly as well.

4. Tim Riley- It would be awesome to see Tim return for one more tour and all the while be grooming a young man to take his place!!!

5. Glenn Dustin- For reasons mentioned with Chapman I could not see him leaving L5, but I think he would also a make a good fit for Gold City.

Out of Left Field Pick number 1. Will Lane- Will sings for Driven and can really rock the low end of the spectrum and can also sing a solo like Tim Riley.

Out Of Left Field Pick Number 2. Trent Adams- he sings for the Ron Blacwood Quartet and I feel he could handle the part as well..

I will be praying that Danny Riley finds just the right man for the job!!!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. KingsmenFan
    August 15, 2009 at 1:43 -04:00Aug

    Trent Adams? Are you serious?! I agree with some of your choices as Will Lane and Chris West.

    Another one would be Keith Plott(formerly of Brian Free and Assurance) and Brandon Barry(formerly of The Old Paths Quartet)

  2. Nate Stainbrook
    August 15, 2009 at 1:43 -04:00Aug

    I heard Trent a few months ago… And came away impressed for his age… I did preface his name by saying it would be out of left field… But I really do think he has the chops to handle the part vocally…And he would fit their new sound and direction IMHO. Here is a link to a video that I think backs up my stating him as a possible GC bass… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AF1D0svQ1hU I agree with you in that Brandon Barry would make a good one as well… I don’t agree with you on Keith Plott, he is a great bass but I don’t think he would “Fit” their new sound and style.

  3. KingsmenFan
    August 16, 2009 at 1:43 -04:00Aug

    I honestly think with the addition of Chris Cooper at tenor, Gold City doesnt want/need a deep bass singer. Thats why I said Keith Plott. I hope and pray Gold City finds someone and doesnt go too progressive with their sound

  4. Nate Stainbrook
    August 16, 2009 at 1:43 -04:00Aug

    I am praying that Gold City finds the right man for the job, whoever that might be. Oh and I noticed you are a Kingsmen Fan.I am working on a review of their latest project (Missing People) I am hoping to publish that review sometime this week.

    • KingsmenFan
      August 19, 2009 at 1:43 -04:00Aug

      Cool…I will make sure I read your review. I am going to pre-order my copy off the Kingsmen’s website.

      I love the sound of “Someday”, “When It’s All Said and Done”, and “God Knows”

      Looking forward to you review!

  5. Big Jim
    September 5, 2009 at 1:43 -04:00Sep

    Have you all ever heard of a guy named Micah Watkins? He’s only 19 years old and he’s a very good bass singer!! He sings with royal city family. They have a myspace profile. http://www.myspace.com/royalcityfamilyministries

  6. will hales
    September 14, 2009 at 1:43 -04:00Sep

    saw gold city saturday night , with tim riley filling in , i feel the loss of aaron an steve so close together is gonna be a hard mountain to climb aaron, josh an steve brought a younger audience to the shows an the younger ones fell in love with the older songs , the new tenor im not sure of his name is no where near as strong vocally as steve , personally i feel the only way to over come this is attempt to find out why no one wants to stay with the group anymore an fix that problem , with tim back with them at the nqc the focus will be on him not the members who are gone then after nqc i think its gonna be a hard row for them to hoe , i hope im wrong i love gold city , i didnt think jonathan could be replaced but bruce jus brings a force to the stage he dont talk he just sings they didnt even sing preach the word saturday night , just seemed they wanted the focus on tim it was kinda like a band aid over a cut

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

