Home > Uncategorized > End Of Week News and Notes

End Of Week News and Notes

  • Josh Simpson is Leaving Gold City to go off to college, I hate to see him leave as he is one of my favorite piano players. But alas changes are a way of life in Southern Gospel Music. I personally would like to see Garry Jones rejoin Gold City.
  • Jeff And Sheri to release a new project soon, it will be called “Expecting Good Things” . I still miss Charlotte Ritchie singing with the Easters. But I think Morgan will do just fine after listening to the sound clips on their website. I am looking forward to this release and will probably do a review when  I get it.
  • NQC Volume 1 will be re-released on DVD after being originally released on VHS. It will be be a way for NQC to commemorate the 10th anniversary of the Cathedrals Retiring. It will feature many speical moments from that year at NQC, Including the very speical telephone call from Glen Payne to the rest of the Cathedrals. It will be available during and just after NQC in a limited capacity. I am looking forward to this as it should be a DVD every Southern Gospel fan would want to have.
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Ron Doring
    August 1, 2009 at 1:43 -05:00Aug

    Nate,

    I got your link from Aaron Swain’s page. I am glad that there are some good young men promoting the art form, of which I have been a fan for more than 35 years. I am also saddened, by some of the new groups that I see posted on every blog. To me it sometimes seems that there is allot of screaming, hollering and grandstanding going on in SG, in the name of “the Gospel” message. I suppose that is the popular thing that seems to draw the youth. But, I think caution is warranted in this area. (more on that later)
    Moving on to another area, I would hope that some of you young bloggers will branch out and promote more than just The legacy 5, Ernie Haas & co. and all of the same groups I see continuiously, on every blog.
    Next, It also seems like to me, at times, that the SG industry it is being driven more and more by pop culture principals, and less by good scripturally based solid music. A little energy is good, up tempo, and all of that. that is a big part of SG) I think, however, if we do not draw the line somewhere, we will slip into the abyss where most contemporary music has been for a long time. The place where it takes listening to half a song, sometimes, and even then still being unable to find the message, or figure out just what, if anything, is Christian about what was just heard. (or seen)
    I have a philosophy. It may be old, and narrow, but I believe it is true. It says; “if you can’t tell if it’s Christian, in the first 30 to 45 seconds of, it probably isn’t”. I realize that there is a problem at times with being too narrow. However, when it comes to our music. (often the one thing that distinguishes us from the world) I vote to for being more careful, and for guarding our uniqueness, and our testimony.
    I do appreciate you young bloggers. You are out there, you are young and enthusiastic, and I know you motives are right. Thanks for your work, and keep on the firing line.

    Ron

    • Nate Stainbrook
      August 1, 2009 at 1:43 -05:00Aug

      Thank you for reading my blog, I really enjoyed reading what you had to say. What drew me to Southern Gospel was the older groups Gold City, Cathedrals and in the late 90’s the Kingdom Heirs. I hate it when a group starts compromising and watering down their songs, to the point it is hard to tell sometimes if the song is even a song about the love and sacrifice of Christ. Which to me should be what every song in this genre should be about in one way or another.

      • Ron Doring
        August 1, 2009 at 1:43 -05:00Aug

        I could’t agree with you more. I wanted also to say, other than one or two groups, I do not really see the trend getting too out of hand. Your page, and others, though sometimes highlighting many of the same groups, seem to do a great job of getting us of the latest happenings in SG, and a fresh angel on many subjects.
        However, there are some things that are being called Southern Gospel that I would rather see relabeled. Perhaps someday there will be a new category for some of the more, “progressive” stuff.
        As things stand, I am very happy that there are bloggers like you and Aaron promoting SG, this great medium for the gospel message. There also seems to be a resurgence of younger people’s interest in SG.(thanks to young guys like you and Aaron)
        By the way, I have Aaron’s email address. (hint hint) ha! Ha! Keep up the good work!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

