Home > News and Notes > Craig West Leaving Gold City

Craig West Leaving Gold City

Yes that is right I got it straight from the man himself last night at NQC. Rumors had been circulating for a few days now, so to settle it once and for all I just straight up asked Craig last night, and he told me a straight “Yes I am leaving Gold City after this week is over.” Below is a brief transcript (this is not word for word verbatim) of what Craig had to say about his decision to leave the group after around 10 months.

Me: So Craig I have heard some rumors that you will are leaving Gold City?

Craig: Yes those rumors are true I will be leaving the group at the end of this week.

Me: Any particular reason why?

Craig: Well you see I have never traveled with a Southern Gospel group before, and I have a ten year old at home that has been used to seeing his daddy home every day. At first it was fine as my son thought it was real cool that his dad was a singer; but after awhile it started getting to my son that he only gets to see me maybe two days a week. My wife told me one day that our son was not doing well at all without his dad at home. So I went and talked to my son about it, after some gentle prodding, he told me that really wants me to be home with him again. Well you see I myself had been feeling like I was not putting my family first and then when my son verbalized his feelings to me about the situation which convinced to start really seeking God’s will. One day¬† while I was running some errands my old boss saw me, and said he wanted to talk to me about something. So we went to lunch where he asked me if I were interested in coming back to his company. After which he told me that God had been impressing it on his heart to talk to me about working for him again. Well I knew then what I had to do. I got ahold of Danny and let him know what was going on.

Categories: News and Notes
  1. September 14, 2011 at 1:43 -05:00Sep

    Nate I just read this and wrote up my thoughts giving you a hat tip. This is just shocking. No words to describe what this could do to GC. But major props to Craig for making the tough and right decision.

  2. quartet-man
    September 14, 2011 at 1:43 -05:00Sep

    I had received confirmation from a source some days ago (that has been right about things Gold City before), but no official word. I truly hate this for Gold City, but I have a deeper respect for Craig (not that I didn’t before). It is refreshing to see someone put their God’s will and family first and not just give lip service. It is also refreshing to hear some details instead of just saying “to be with my family” which sounds (and probably often is) a canned excuse or only part of the reason. Does anyone know what Craig did before?

    I also hope Gold City just releases the project. With the lack of stability they have had (and I am not being mean here, regardless of who if any are at fault, it has been an issue for the most part since Wilburn, Ladd and Aaron left) they really can’t afford to keep putting it off because there are no guarantees that any lineup they get will be together long enough to get it released each time. If they do get a stable lineup, they could release it again a la Legacy Five (although this situation is different).

  3. quartet-man
    September 14, 2011 at 1:43 -05:00Sep

    BTW, thanks for getting official confirmation, Nate.

    • Nate Stainbrook
      September 14, 2011 at 1:43 -05:00Sep

      Your welcome my friend!

  4. PhilonSouthernGospel
    September 14, 2011 at 1:43 -05:00Sep

    Waow….Just when you allow yourself too think Gold City might be getting a little more traction…BAM!

    Change happens i guess, but at least Craig’s reasons for leaving sound absolutely and entirely plausible. Family first is best!

  5. ken
    January 4, 2012 at 1:43 -05:00Jan

    didn’t craig sing with the fla boys for a while

    • Nate Stainbrook
      January 4, 2012 at 1:43 -05:00Jan

      Not that I am aware of…

  1. September 14, 2011 at 1:43 -05:00Sep
  2. September 14, 2011 at 1:43 -05:00Sep
  3. September 14, 2011 at 1:43 -05:00Sep

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

